TRU announce men's competition restructure for 2024

Wed, Feb 21, 2024, 2:30 AM
by Tasmanian Rugby Union

2024 marks an exciting new era for Tasmanian Rugby. 

Following the success of last year’s 90th anniversary season, the TRU will this year launch a 10-team open men’s competition to further strengthen rugby across the state.

Launceston will field two sides with Burnie, Devonport, Eastern Suburbs, Glenorchy, Hobart Harlequins, Hobart Lions, Taroona, and University also represented.

Elements of the Premiership and Championship structure remain with both trophies in play for teams. Please refer to the competition breakdown below.

The TRU women’s competition structure is currently under review and an announcement regarding the 2024 season will be made in the near future.


Under the new format, all 10 open men’s sides will meet each other once in Round Robin.

During Stage One, each side will have a minimum of four and maximum of five home games.

Four (4) competition points will be awarded for a win, two (2) for a draw, and one (1) bonus point for scoring four (4) tries and/or losing by less than seven (7) points.

At the conclusion of Round Robin, teams will be ranked according to their place on the competition ladder.


Teams ranked 1-5 at the conclusion of Round Robin will qualify for the Premiership pool (Pool A) and play each other once more.

Teams ranked 6-10 at the conclusion of Round Robin will qualify for the Championship pool (Pool B) and play each other once more.

The top four sides from Pool A and Pool B will progress to finals.

NOTE: Competition points accrued during Stage One are carried through into the split format.


Tasmanian Rugby will adopt a two-week finals series for the 2024 season onwards, as below:

Premiership Semi Final 1: Winner Pool A v Fourth Pool A

Premiership Semi Final 2: Runner Up Pool A v Third Pool A

Premiership Final: Winner SF1 v Winner SF2


Championship Semi Final 1: Winner Pool B v Fourth Pool B

Championship Semi Final: Runner Up Pool B v Third Pool B

Championship Final: Winner SF 1 v Winner SF2